The 6th KBO Commissioner’s Flag National College Baseball Championship

201309092036779415_522dc7da77a7dInha University grabs their first KBO Commissioner’s Flag title. (Korea Baseball Association)

The finals was a rematch between Inha  and Kyung Hee University of last year’s Summer League finals, and for the second straight time Kyung Hee’s rally came up short.  The 6th KBO Commissioner’s Flag National College Baseball Championship ended this past Monday as Inha University won their first ever title of this tournament.

Inha scored early off Kyung Hee’s starter, Sim Gyu-beom (심규범, LHP, Busan Lotte Giants’ 4th Round pick, 43rd overall), who gave up four of Inha’s five runs in less than three innings.  Lee Ho-jung (이호중, RHP, junior) came in relief and held Inha’s offense to one run for the next 5 1/3 innings as Kyung Hee sought for a rally in the late innings.  Meanwhile, Inha’s starter, Jeong Jeong-hwan (정정환, LHP, senior, undrafted) gave up just one run (unearned) in seven innings pitched.  He did give up five walks in the process while striking out seven.

Draft choices did not perform well in this game.  Besides Sim, Kyung Hee’s catcher, Jeong Seong-min (정성민, NC Dinos’ 8th Round pick, 78th overall) went 0-for-5.  Inha’s center fielder, Park Jun-tae (박준태, KIA Tigers’ 7th Round pick, 73rd overall) went 1-for-4 and struck out twice; pitcher, Park Min-ho (박민호, SK Wyverns’ 4th Round pick, 45th overall), did not make an appearance.

Notable alumni of each school include:
– Inha University (인하대): Cho Beom-hyeon (조범현, manager, KT Wiz), Kim Ki-tae (김기태, manager, LG Twins), Song Ji-man (송지만, OF, Seoul Nexen Heroes)
– Kyung Hee University (경희대): Ma Nak-gil (마낙길, OF, NC Dinos)

So, below is the complete result of the tournament and award winners.  Awards in Korea are occasionally given as a consolation prize, NOT necessarily to the best performer.

6th KBO Commissioner's Flag_Brackets


Award Winners

  • Champions: Inha University
  • Runner-up: Kyung Hee University
  • Most Valuable Player: Jeong Jeong-hwan (Inha Univ., LHP – 7.0 IP, 4 H, 1 R, 0 ER, 5 BB, 7 K, 121 pitches)
  • Best pitcher: Jang Seong-ho (Inha Univ., RHP – 1.0 IP, 3 H, 2 R, 1 ER, 0 BB, 1 K, 24 pitches)
  • Fighting Spirit Award : Lee Ho-jung (Kyung Hee Univ., LHP – 5.1 IP, 4 H, 1 R, 1 ER, 1 BB, 4 K, 71 pitches)
  • Outstanding Player : Kang Yun-woong (Inha Univ., OF – 1-for-4, 1 R, 1 2B, 1 RBI, 1 SB)
  • Top hitter: Yang Won-hyeok (Inha Univ., 3B – 0.583 BA, 7-for-12)
  • Most RBIs: Kang Baek-san (Inha Univ., OF – 10 RBI)
  • Most home runs: Park Gyeong-taek (Dongguk Univ., 1B – 1 HR)
  • Most stolen bases: Jo Seong-mo (Kyung Hee Univ., SS – 8 SB)
  • Best manager: Heo Se-hwan (Inha Univ., Manager)
  • Achievement Award: Park Choon-bae (Inha Univ., President)




What's your opinion?

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s