What is Catcher’s Interference?
Catcher’s interference is a rare but important rule in Major League Baseball that can take away a perfect game and alter the outcome of a match. Catcher’s interference occurs when the catcher’s glove comes into contact with the bat while the batter is swinging at a pitch. This contact can cause the batter to be called out, even though the pitch was not struck. In this situation, the umpire will call catcher’s interference, and the batter is awarded first base.
The History of Catcher’s Interference
The rule of catcher’s interference dates back to the 1800s, when baseball was first starting to become popular. In 1876, the National League (NL) was formed and the first set of rules for the game was established. In these rules, catcher’s interference was listed as a foul ball, and the batter was awarded first base.
In the early 1900s, the rule was changed to the version we know today. The batter is awarded first base if the catcher’s glove contacts the bat while the batter is swinging at a pitch. This rule was established to protect the batter from the catcher’s aggressive play.
How Catcher’s Interference Affects a Perfect Game
A perfect game is a rare feat in baseball where a pitcher throws a complete game without allowing any batters to reach base. This means that the pitcher must not allow any hits, walks, hit-by-pitches, errors, or catcher’s interference. If a catcher’s interference call is made, the perfect game is ruined and the pitcher will not be credited with a perfect game.
Examples of Catcher’s Interference
Catcher’s interference can occur in a variety of ways. Some of the most common examples include:
- Too Close to The Plate: The catcher can be called for interference if they are too close to the plate when the pitch is thrown. This can cause the glove to contact the bat before the batter can make contact with the ball.
- Inadvertent Contact: The catcher may sometimes make contact with the bat accidentally. This can occur if the bat is in the way when the catcher is trying to catch the pitch. In this case, the umpire will call catcher’s interference.
- Reaching Into The Strike Zone: If the catcher reaches into the strike zone with their glove in an attempt to block the ball, they can be called for interference. This is because the glove is not allowed to enter the strike zone before the batter swings at the pitch.
No-Hitter vs. Perfect Game
It is important to note that a catcher’s interference can ruin a perfect game, but it will not ruin a no-hitter. A no-hitter is when a pitcher throws a complete game without allowing any hits, but they can allow walks, hit-by-pitches, errors, or catcher’s interference. If the catcher is called for interference, the pitcher will still be credited with a no-hitter.
Consequences of Catcher’s Interference
When a catcher is called for interference, the consequences can be significant. The batter is automatically awarded first base, and any runners on base will advance one base. This can change the outcome of a game and can even cost a team a win.
Catcher’s Interference and the Official Scorekeeper
The official scorekeeper is responsible for determining whether or not a catcher’s interference call should be recorded. The scorekeeper must make a judgment based on the situation and decide if the catcher’s glove came into contact with the bat before the batter made contact with the ball. If the scorekeeper determines that the catcher caused interference, they will record the call and the batter will be awarded first base.
Avoiding Catcher’s Interference
To avoid catcher’s interference, both the pitcher and the catcher must be aware of the rules and regulations. The catcher must make sure that they are not too close to the plate when the pitch is thrown, and the pitcher must be aware of where the catcher’s glove is in relation to the batter. Both the pitcher and catcher must also be aware of the batter’s swing and be ready to react if the bat comes in contact with the glove.
Catcher’s interference is a rare but important rule in baseball that can take away a perfect game. The rule was established to protect the batter from the catcher’s aggressive play, and when it is called, the batter is automatically awarded first base. While the consequences of a catcher’s interference call can be significant, it is important that both the pitcher and the catcher are aware of the rules and regulations in order to avoid the call.
- Goldstein, P. (2020, July 01). What is catcher’s interference in baseball? Retrieved from mlb.com/news/catchers-interference-in-baseball
- Baseball Almanac. (n.d.). Catcher’s Interference. Retrieved from baseball-almanac.com/rule11.shtml
- Baseball Reference. (n.d.). Perfect Games. Retrieved from baseball-reference.com/bullpen/Perfect_Game
- Bleacher Report. (2018, April 21). What is a No-Hitter? Retrieved from bleacherreport.com/articles/2777725-what-is-a-no-hitter-in-baseball