How many NL MLB teams are there?

Introduction to NL MLB Teams

Major League Baseball (MLB) is a professional baseball league that is composed of 30 teams, of which 15 teams are in the National League (NL) and the remaining 15 teams are in the American League (AL). The NL and AL are two separate divisions within MLB, and each division has its own set of rules and regulations. The NL teams are based in the United States, while the AL teams are based in Canada.

Number of NL MLB Teams

The National League currently has 15 teams spread out among three divisions: East, Central, and West. The East Division consists of the Atlanta Braves, Miami Marlins, New York Mets, Philadelphia Phillies, and Washington Nationals. The Central Division includes the Chicago Cubs, Cincinnati Reds, Milwaukee Brewers, Pittsburgh Pirates, and St. Louis Cardinals. Lastly, the West Division consists of the Arizona Diamondbacks, Colorado Rockies, Los Angeles Dodgers, San Diego Padres, and San Francisco Giants.

History of NL MLB Teams

The National League was founded in 1876, making it the oldest of the two major leagues in the US. At the time, the league was composed of eight teams: the Boston Red Stockings, Chicago White Stockings, Cincinnati Red Stockings, Hartford Dark Blues, Louisville Grays, Mutual of New York, Philadelphia Athletics, and the St. Louis Brown Stockings.

Over the years, the number of teams in the league has changed numerous times as teams have left, merged, or gone bankrupt. The most recent changes to the NL occurred in 2013 when the Houston Astros moved to the American League and the Arizona Diamondbacks and Colorado Rockies moved to the NL.

NL MLB Teams and Their Stadiums

  • Atlanta Braves – Truist Park
  • Miami Marlins – Marlins Park
  • New York Mets – Citi Field
  • Philadelphia Phillies – Citizens Bank Park
  • Washington Nationals – Nationals Park
  • Chicago Cubs – Wrigley Field
  • Cincinnati Reds – Great American Ball Park
  • Milwaukee Brewers – Miller Park
  • Pittsburgh Pirates – PNC Park
  • St. Louis Cardinals – Busch Stadium
  • Arizona Diamondbacks – Chase Field
  • Colorado Rockies – Coors Field
  • Los Angeles Dodgers – Dodger Stadium
  • San Diego Padres – Petco Park
  • San Francisco Giants – Oracle Park

Current NL MLB Team Owners

The current owners of the NL teams are as follows:

  • Atlanta Braves – Liberty Media Corporation
  • Miami Marlins – Bruce Sherman and Derek Jeter
  • New York Mets – Sterling Equities
  • Philadelphia Phillies – John S. Middleton
  • Washington Nationals – Theodore N. Lerner
  • Chicago Cubs – The Ricketts Family
  • Cincinnati Reds – Bob Castellini
  • Milwaukee Brewers – Mark Attanasio
  • Pittsburgh Pirates – Robert Nutting
  • St. Louis Cardinals – William DeWitt Jr.
  • Arizona Diamondbacks – Ken Kendrick
  • Colorado Rockies – Dick Monfort
  • Los Angeles Dodgers – Guggenheim Baseball Management LLC
  • San Diego Padres – Peter Seidler
  • San Francisco Giants – Charles B. Johnson

NL MLB Teams’ Achievements

The NL teams have had a long history of success, with several teams winning multiple World Series championships. The St. Louis Cardinals and San Francisco Giants have won the most World Series titles with 11 and 8, respectively. The Chicago Cubs, Pittsburgh Pirates, and New York Mets have all won two World Series titles, while the Atlanta Braves, Miami Marlins, Philadelphia Phillies, Washington Nationals, Arizona Diamondbacks, Colorado Rockies, Los Angeles Dodgers, and San Diego Padres have all won one.

NL MLB Teams and Their Rivalries

Many of the NL teams have longstanding rivalries with other teams in the league. The most famous NL rivalry is the “Cubs-Cardinals” rivalry between the Chicago Cubs and St. Louis Cardinals. The two teams have a long history that dates back to 1892, and the rivalry has been fierce ever since. Other rivalries within the NL include the “Mets-Phillies” rivalry between the New York Mets and Philadelphia Phillies, the “Giants-Dodgers” rivalry between the San Francisco Giants and Los Angeles Dodgers, and the “Braves-Marlins” rivalry between the Atlanta Braves and Miami Marlins.

NL MLB Teams and Their Fans

The NL teams have some of the most passionate fans in all of baseball. The Chicago Cubs, St. Louis Cardinals, and New York Mets all have large, loyal fan bases that are passionate about their teams. The Atlanta Braves, Philadelphia Phillies, and Washington Nationals are also popular teams with dedicated fan bases. The Arizona Diamondbacks, Colorado Rockies, Los Angeles Dodgers, San Diego Padres, and San Francisco Giants all have passionate fan bases as well.


The National League of Major League Baseball currently consists of 15 teams from the United States and Canada. These teams have a long history of success and rivalries, and their passionate fans make them some of the most popular teams in all of baseball. Whether you’re a fan of the Chicago Cubs, St. Louis Cardinals, or any of the other NL teams, you’re sure to find something to cheer about.