What baseball team moved to Atlanta?

What Baseball Team Moved to Atlanta?

The Atlanta Braves, a Major League Baseball (MLB) franchise, moved from Milwaukee, Wisconsin to Atlanta, Georgia in 1966. Established in 1871 as the Boston Red Stockings, the Braves have the distinction of being one of the oldest professional sports franchises in North America.

Boston Red Stockings

The Boston Red Stockings were founded in 1871 and were part of the National Association of Professional Base Ball Players. They joined the National League in 1876, becoming the first professional baseball team in Boston. The team underwent various name changes over the years, including the Boston Red Caps, the Boston Beaneaters, and ultimately the Boston Braves in 1912. The team was also known as the Boston Rustlers in 1911.

Milwaukee Braves

In 1953, the Boston Braves moved to Milwaukee, Wisconsin, becoming the Milwaukee Braves. The team experienced much success in Milwaukee, winning the World Series in 1957. During their tenure in Milwaukee, the Braves were managed by Hall of Fame manager, Bobby Cox, and featured Hall of Fame players such as Hank Aaron, Warren Spahn, and Eddie Mathews.

The Move to Atlanta

Due to poor attendance and financial difficulties, the Braves ownership decided to move the team to Atlanta, Georgia in 1966. The Braves played their first game in Atlanta on April 12, 1966, at the newly constructed Atlanta–Fulton County Stadium. The move to Atlanta proved to be a successful one for the Braves, as they would go on to win three National League pennants and the World Series in 1995.

Atlanta–Fulton County Stadium

The Braves played at the Atlanta–Fulton County Stadium from 1966 to 1996. The stadium was located in the Summerhill neighborhood of Atlanta and was built in 1965. It was demolished in 1997 and replaced by the Turner Field baseball stadium.

Turner Field

Turner Field was the home of the Atlanta Braves from 1997 to 2016. The stadium was originally built to host the 1996 Summer Olympics and was later converted into a baseball stadium. It was located in the Summerhill neighborhood of Atlanta and was demolished in 2017. It was replaced by the SunTrust Park baseball stadium.

SunTrust Park

SunTrust Park is the current home of the Atlanta Braves. The stadium was opened in 2017 and is located in the Cumberland neighborhood of Atlanta. The stadium features a 41,500-seat capacity and a state-of-the-art retractable roof.

The Braves’ Success in Atlanta

The move to Atlanta has been a successful one for the Braves, as they have won the National League East Division title 14 times since the move in 1966. The team has also won the National League Wild Card three times and the World Series in 1995.

Braves Fans

The Braves have a passionate and devoted fan base. The team has led the National League in attendance in 11 of the past 12 years and is consistently ranked in the top 5 in MLB attendance.

Notable Braves Players

  • Hank Aaron – Aaron is arguably the greatest player in Braves history. He was a 15-time All-Star, two-time NL MVP, and won the World Series with the Braves in 1957.
  • Greg Maddux – Maddux is a four-time Cy Young Award winner and a member of the 300-win club. He won the World Series with the Braves in 1995.
  • Tom Glavine – Glavine is a two-time Cy Young Award winner and a ten-time All-Star. He was a part of the Braves 1995 World Series championship team.
  • Chipper Jones – Jones is a Hall of Fame third baseman who played his entire career with the Braves. He was a eight-time All-Star and the NL MVP in 1999.


The Atlanta Braves are one of the oldest professional baseball franchises in North America and have been based in Atlanta since 1966. The Braves have experienced much success in Atlanta, winning 14 division titles, three Wild Card titles, and the World Series in 1995. The team has a loyal fan base and have featured some of the greatest players in Major League Baseball history, including Hank Aaron, Greg Maddux, Tom Glavine, and Chipper Jones.