What is PCL in MLB?

Introduction to PCL in MLB

The Pacific Coast League (PCL) is a Minor League Baseball organization based in the western United States and Canada. Established in 1903, the PCL is the oldest of the four current minor leagues and is considered to be the Triple-A level of play. It is also known as the “premier” minor league due to the high level of play and the quality of its players. The PCL is affiliated with Major League Baseball (MLB) and is composed of teams from California, Oregon, Utah, Washington, Arizona, Hawaii, and Canada.

History of the PCL

The Pacific Coast League was formed in 1903 with the San Francisco Seals, Oakland Oaks, Los Angeles Angels, and Portland Beavers as the original members. The PCL quickly gained a reputation as a high-quality minor league and by 1915, it was recognized as the highest level of minor league competition in the United States. In 1946, the PCL began a working agreement with Major League Baseball, allowing the PCL to become a Triple-A level minor league.

Benefits of PCL to MLB

The Pacific Coast League provides numerous benefits to Major League Baseball. One of the most important is that it allows MLB teams to develop and evaluate their prospects in a competitive environment. The PCL also provides a way for MLB teams to send players down to the minors for rehab assignments and to give their major league players some rest.

Additionally, the PCL serves as a training ground for umpires and provides a venue for the MLB to test out new rules and regulations. The PCL also provides MLB teams with valuable scouting information as they track the progress of PCL players both on and off the field.

PCL Teams and Locations

The Pacific Coast League consists of 16 teams in 8 states and one province in Canada. The teams are divided into two divisions: The Northern Division and the Southern Division.

The Northern Division consists of the following teams:

  • Portland Beavers (Oregon)
  • Sacramento River Cats (California)
  • Tacoma Rainiers (Washington)
  • Salt Lake Bees (Utah)
  • Las Vegas 51s (Nevada)
  • Reno Aces (Nevada)
  • Vancouver Canadians (Canada)

The Southern Division consists of the following teams:

  • Albuquerque Isotopes (New Mexico)
  • Colorado Springs Sky Sox (Colorado)
  • Fresno Grizzlies (California)
  • Nashville Sounds (Tennessee)
  • Oklahoma City RedHawks (Oklahoma)
  • Omaha Storm Chasers (Nebraska)
  • Round Rock Express (Texas)
  • Iowa Cubs (Iowa)

PCL Championships

The Pacific Coast League has held an annual championship since 1903. The championship is determined by a best-of-5 playoff series between the champions of the Northern and Southern Divisions. The winner of the PCL Championship is awarded the Joe Bauman Trophy, named after the PCL’s all-time leader in home runs.

Notable PCL Players

The Pacific Coast League has produced many great players throughout its history. Some of the more notable players include Hall of Famers Willie Mays, Ted Williams, and Joe DiMaggio, as well as current stars like Mike Trout and Clayton Kershaw.

PCL Hall of Fame

The PCL established its own Hall of Fame in 2012 to honor the greatest players, coaches, and executives in the league’s history. Inductees are selected by a panel of baseball historians and the current PCL teams. The inaugural class included Joe DiMaggio, Ted Williams, and Willie Mays.

MLB Players from the PCL

The Pacific Coast League has been a source of talent for Major League Baseball for over a century. Many of the greatest players in MLB history have played in the PCL before making it to the big leagues. Some of the most notable players to make the jump from the PCL to the major leagues include Joe DiMaggio, Ted Williams, Willie Mays, Mike Trout, Clayton Kershaw, and Sandy Koufax.


The Pacific Coast League is one of the most important and influential minor leagues in baseball. It serves as an important training ground and provides Major League Baseball with a valuable source of talent. The PCL has a rich history and has produced many great players throughout its storied existence.


Baseball-Reference.com. (n.d.). Pacific Coast League (PCL). Retrieved from baseball-reference.com/register/league.cgi?code=PCL

MiLB.com. (2018, January 23). Pacific Coast League. Retrieved from milb.com/pacific-coast-league

Pacific Coast League. (n.d.). PCL Hall of Fame. Retrieved from pclbaseball.com/hall-of-fame.html