What is the oldest active MLB team?

What is the Oldest Active MLB Team?

Major League Baseball (MLB) is the oldest professional sports league in the United States. It has been in existence since 1869 and is the oldest continuous professional sports league in North America. With that said, one of the oldest active teams in the MLB is the Atlanta Braves.

History of the Atlanta Braves

The Atlanta Braves were originally founded in 1871 as the Boston Red Stockings, one of the original eight teams in the National League. The team changed its name to the Beaneaters in 1883, then to the Doves in 1907, and again to the Rustlers in 1911. Finally, in 1912, the team settled on the Braves name, which it has kept ever since.

Notable Players and Managers

Throughout their history, the Braves have had some of the most iconic players and managers in the history of baseball. Some of the most famous players to have worn the Braves uniform include Hall of Famers Hank Aaron, Warren Spahn, Tom Glavine, and Greg Maddux.

The team has also had some of the most successful managers in baseball history, including Bobby Cox, who managed the team to 14 consecutive division titles, and Joe Torre, who led the team to a World Series championship in 1995.

The Braves Move to Atlanta

In 1966, the Braves moved from Boston to Atlanta, Georgia, becoming the first major professional sports team in the South. This move was controversial at the time, but it helped to usher in a new era of professional sports in the South.

In their first year in Atlanta, the Braves had a record of 66-96 and finished in last place. However, by 1971, the team had improved to 88-74 and won the National League West division title.

1995 World Series Champions

The Braves won the World Series in 1995, led by Hall of Fame manager Joe Torre and a talented roster of players that included Maddux, Glavine, and Chipper Jones. The Braves went on to win five consecutive division titles from 1995-1999 and appeared in the World Series four times during that span.

The Braves in the 2000s

The Braves continued their success in the 2000s, led by a core of talented players such as Jones, Andruw Jones, and John Smoltz. The team won the National League East division title in five consecutive seasons from 2005-2009, but they were unable to make it back to the World Series.

The Braves in the 2010s

The Braves struggled in the early part of the 2010s, missing the playoffs for three consecutive seasons from 2011-2013. However, the team bounced back in 2014 and made the playoffs in four of the next five seasons.

The Braves in the 2020s

The Braves are off to a hot start in the 2020s, led by a core of talented young players such as Ronald Acuña Jr., Ozzie Albies, and Mike Soroka. The team won the National League East division title in both 2018 and 2019 and look poised to compete for a World Series title in the near future.


The Atlanta Braves are the oldest active team in Major League Baseball. The team has a long and storied history, from its beginnings in Boston in 1871 to its move to Atlanta in 1966 to its championship season in 1995. The Braves have continued to be competitive in the 21st century, and they look poised to make yet another run at a World Series title in the 2020s.
MLB, Atlanta Braves, Boston Red Stockings, Beaneaters, Doves, Rustlers, Hank Aaron, Warren Spahn, Tom Glavine, Greg Maddux, Bobby Cox, Joe Torre, National League, Chipper Jones, Andruw Jones, John Smoltz, Ronald Acuña Jr., Ozzie Albies, Mike Soroka,