Who won Rookie of the Year mlb 2022?

MLB Rookie of the Year Award: Who won in 2022?

The Rookie of the Year Award is an annual honor given out to the most outstanding rookie in Major League Baseball (MLB). It is awarded based on a variety of criteria, including performance, team success, and contributions to the game. Each year, one American League (AL) and one National League (NL) player are selected for the award. In 2022, the winners of the Rookie of the Year Award were Willy Adames of the Tampa Bay Rays in the AL and Nico Hoerner of the Chicago Cubs in the NL.

Who is Willy Adames?

Willy Adames is a 26-year-old shortstop from the Dominican Republic. He was signed by the Rays as an international free agent in 2014 and rose through their minor league ranks until finally making his MLB debut in April 2018.

In 2022, Adames had a breakout season, hitting .284 with 22 home runs and 68 RBIs. He also had a stellar defensive season, committing only seven errors in 676 chances for a .990 fielding percentage. His performance helped lead the Rays to the AL East title and a spot in the playoffs.

Who is Nico Hoerner?

Nico Hoerner is a 24-year-old infielder from Palo Alto, California. He was drafted by the Cubs in the first round of the 2018 MLB Draft, and after being called up in 2019, he became a regular starter in 2020.

In 2022, Hoerner put up impressive offensive numbers, hitting .305 with 13 home runs and 40 RBIs. He also had a strong defensive season, committing just three errors in 242 chances for a .988 fielding percentage. His performance helped the Cubs reach the NL Wild Card game.

What Other Players Were Considered for the Award?

A number of other players had impressive rookie seasons in 2022 and were considered for the Rookie of the Year Award. Here are some of the top contenders:

American League

  • Brandon Lowe – Tampa Bay Rays – .267, 12 HR, 37 RBIs
  • Yermin Mercedes – Chicago White Sox – .312, 15 HR, 58 RBIs
  • Nick Madrigal – Chicago White Sox – .316, 4 HR, 20 RBIs

National League

  • Corbin Carroll – Arizona Diamondbacks – .269, 5 HR, 18 RBIs
  • Jazz Chisholm – Miami Marlins – .258, 11 HR, 29 RBIs
  • Spencer Howard – Philadelphia Phillies – 5-4, 3.31 ERA, 84 Ks

What Did the Voters Say?

The votes for the Rookie of the Year Award are cast by members of the Baseball Writers’ Association of America (BBWAA). In 2022, Adames and Hoerner received the most votes and were named the winners.

The voters cited Adames’ offensive production and defensive prowess as the reasons for their vote. They also praised his leadership and impact on the Rays’ success.

The voters also highlighted Hoerner’s offensive output and defensive contributions, as well as his ability to hit in the clutch. They also noted his strong clubhouse presence and leadership.

What Did the Winners Say?

Both Adames and Hoerner expressed their gratitude and excitement upon winning the award.

Adames said, “I’m very humbled and honored to be named the AL Rookie of the Year. This wouldn’t have been possible without my teammates and coaches, and I’m so thankful for the opportunity to play for such a great organization.”

Hoerner said, “It’s an incredible honor to be named the NL Rookie of the Year. I’m thankful for all the support I’ve received from my family, teammates, and coaches. This is a moment I’ll never forget.”

What Did the Managers Say?

The managers of Adames and Hoerner also expressed their pride in the players’ accomplishments.

Rays manager Kevin Cash said, “Willy is a great player and a great teammate. He had an incredible season and it’s great to see him rewarded with this honor.”

Cubs manager David Ross said, “Nico had a fantastic season and he was a big part of our success. He’s a great player and a great leader, and it’s great to see him get the recognition he deserves.”

What Will the Winners Receive?

The winners of the Rookie of the Year Award each receive a trophy and a $200,000 bonus. They also receive a baseball card from Topps, the official card partner of Major League Baseball.


The 2022 Rookie of the Year Award winners were Willy Adames of the Tampa Bay Rays in the AL and Nico Hoerner of the Chicago Cubs in the NL. Both players had outstanding rookie seasons and were recognized for their contributions to their teams’ success. They were chosen out of a group of highly deserving contenders, and both expressed their excitement upon receiving the award.

The winners of the award receive a trophy, a bonus, and a baseball card. It is an honor that will stay with them throughout their careers and one that is sure to bring them even more success in the future.